A guide to complete Char Dham Yatra in 10 days


You might have heard your elders express their wish to embark on the journey of Char Dham- the holy pilgrimage sites of India. It is said that to attain Nirvana (Moksha), one must visit Char Dham in his/her lifetime. The four abodes (dhams) are- Puri, Badrinath, Dwarka, and Rameswaram. Another smaller circuit, often known as Chota Char Dham, is located in Uttarakhand and comprises of Yamunotri, Gangotri, Badrinath, and Kedarnath and we’ll be talking about the itinerary for this one. 

Figuring out a plan for your char dham yatra can be a task and your best option is to choose the right Char Dham Tour Package since it’ll help you think less and make most of your yatra. Here is a 10-day itinerary that’ll ease-up your planning process.

Day 1: Haridwar to Barkot

On the first day of your trip, you will be traveling to Barkot from Haridwar. The journey will be 215 km long and will require you to travel for 7 hrs. When you reach Barkot, you can stay in a hotel to get some rest and get ready for the next day of your trip.

Day 2: Trek to Pious Yamunotri

Leave the hotel early in the morning and travel to Janki Chatti. From there, trek for 5 km and you’ll reach Yamunotri-the first destination of the Char Dham yatra. On reaching the holy shrine, offer puja to Goddess Yamuna and take a dip in the hot water springs located near the temple. 

Day 3: Head to Uttarkashi 

The next destination of the yatra is Uttarkashi, which houses attractions like Prakateshwar Caves and many more. You can then visit the famous shrine of Lord Vishwanath and offer your prayers there. Spend the night in Uttarkashi before heading towards your next destination.

Day 4: To Gangotri

Morning is the best time to visit the holy Dham that is Gangotri. You can offer your prayers to the Goddess Ganga and take a dip in the sacred river. Later, leave for Uttarkashi. 

Day 5: Head to Guptkashi

Prepare yourself for your devotional trip to Kedarnath. To avoid fatigue, you can proceed with the trip in two steps. The first step will involve driving from Uttarkashi to Guptkashi and spending one night there. You can enjoy the aroma of magnolia and the perfect picturesque view of the Chaukhamba Peak. Visit Vishwanath temple in the evening. 

Day6: Trek to Kedarnath

As the second step, travel to the lofty mountains of Kedarnath for puja and darshan. Enjoy the natural beauty and spirituality of Kedarnath.      

Day 7: Leave for Rudraprayag

After offering prayers at the temple in the morning, move towards Gaurikund.  From there, you can drive to Rudraprayag which is on the confluence of river Alaknanda and Mandakini. 

Day 8: Visit Badrinath

For a hassle-free darshan and puja, you should reach Badrinath Temple early in the morning. Take a dip in Tapt Kund and proceed to Mata Murty Temple, Vyas Gufa, Bhim Pul, Narad Kund and Mana Village. 

Day 9: Back to Rudraprayag

Travel back to Rudraprayag and take a look at the places that you had missed earlier. 

Day10: End of Yatra

This day marks the end of your char Dham yatra. Head back with the good memories of this spiritual trip and share your experience with your family and friends.  

When you search for India holiday trip, you will be flooded with a lot of options. A char Dham yatra is one of the best choices to have an amazing spiritual trip and embark on an experience of a lifetime.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here